Single-Rest Infusion of Multi-Step?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brewsmith

Home brewing moogerfooger
Reaction score
In a few minutes I am going to start my CA Doppelbock. I'm using a 5 gal. igloo cooler for my mash tun. Grain bill is as follows for a 3 gallon batch:

5 lb. American 2-row
5 lb. Munich
0.25 lb. Crystal 75
0.25 lb. Chocolate

OG: 1.090
SRM: 23

I was planning on doing a single temp infusion at 156-158. Would a multi temp mash be better? I can only change the temp by adding more hot water. I will run out of space in the mash tun pretty quick.

That's what I thought. I've never used that much munich before and was just wondering. I need a bigger mash tun so I can do higher gravity brews and multi-step mashes. Time to look for a 10 gal. cooler. :D

If it was me brewing that recipe I would mash in at 90 degrees in my 8 gallon pot for 20 min. Add heat and raise to 122 degrees for 20 minutes. Add boiling water to raise to my conversion temp (156 degrees) for 45 min. Apply heat and raise to 164 before transferring to my lauter tun. I use this type mash when using a high precentage of Munich. Being a bock I would problably at least do a single decoction to make the most out of the Munich.

If a single infusion is more your style than stick to it. You can't go wrong with simplicity.

Most modern malts have become to good to justify a protein rest. This means you will be fine with a single infusion.

But if you feel comfortable with decoction mashing, I'd go at least for a double decoction (from 55C to 68C, and 68C to 75C). Though decoction mashing is not much used anymore, it is still the preferred method for Doppelbocks.

But again, it will also be fine with a single infusion.

Kai