Head Retention

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Terry08

Reaction score
I have been making very nice beer for many years but not all bottles show great head retention. I know washing glasses, shape of glass, what you eat all are contributing factors.

What I am after is something that can be added to the wort or at the bottling stage to improve head retention.

I have many fans of my beer but I believe that at times the nice creamy head is missing. This is one of the clear beers like Lager. I do not have any problems with a dark ale.

So if there is a magic drop that does not effect flavour or detract from clarity I sure would like to know about it. Yes it has to be available in Australia.

I don't know of a special additive that does this.

If you're doing a partial mash or all-grain, you could add some carapils/dextrine malt to your grain bill. This shouldn't impart much flavor, if any. You could also try increasing your mash temp a few degrees.

Terry08,

I have heard 'Wheat' helps with head retention.
And as I brew 'extract with speciality grains steeped in',
ie. 8 Lbs of DME X 5 gallons of water.
'less than a pound' of wheat extract is said to help head retention.
I have been having the same problem.
Not that it is a problem per-se.
Actually a 'nice head' 'looks good'
but I don't need any more air in my gut,
and am not in need of it myself.
The 'best picture' of ale I ever brewed
was a giant bottle of 'Mein Acht Pfund Hammerbier'.
And the picture is on my web site... last page.
I don't remember if it had wheat in.
Mabey 'the big bottle' made the difference?

Thank you

J. Winters von Knife

Jack the Knife's World Famous Fifth century forge, Knife shop and Skullery