best/cheapest online store

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Irish1225

Reaction score
not sure if this is the "correct" place to post, but i'm a noob and will give it a try

i'm in chicagoland and want to get ready for my next brew but don't want to travel 30 miles to the nearest HBS. I don't need the materials immediately so i thought waiting for shipping would be no problem.

in anyone's experience, what's an online shop where i can buy quality individual ingredients (looking for some DME and steeping grains - nothing special) and yeast, along with cheap shipping? found A LOT of sites through a yahoo search, but wondered what has been good to people in the past.

i greatly appreciate any feedback. HBT is by far the most informative and friendliest forum i've used...ever!

I look at morebeer.com and northerbrewer.com

Those seem to be the cheaper ones that's I've seen. At least at my level

I have already used MidWest Homebrewing and Wine Making Supply. Ordered a few things from them so far and they have cheaper prices than my local HBS and they only charge you what FEDEX charges them for shipping! They are in Minnesota so your shipping costs should be pretty inexpensive.
MidWest Supply

Before you go there....I do support my local HBS. I get all my ingredients and misc stuff there.

i like Midwest but Fedex is bull, expensive shipping and they deliver it to the wrong house twice before i got it... i had to buy a new yeat pack from the LHBS because the one they sent me was burst because it froze... i hate fedex

cheers

i like Midwest but Fedex is bull, expensive shipping and they deliver it to the wrong house twice before i got it... i had to buy a new yeat pack from the LHBS because the one they sent me was burst because it froze... i hate fedex