Triple IPA hop schedule opinions?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Agtronic

Reaction score
Hey guys,

I've been brewing for a few years now. Thankfully, I have been enjoying a good success rate so far. Pretty much every batch is great, and they are consistent.

I have never been very daring with my recipes. I tend to change amounts in small increments out of fear of going overboard. With my IPAs, I have been adding more and more hops and each time I find myself thinking I should have added more.

So after making quite a few successful IPAs, I want to make a really big and bold IPA.

The recipe should yield about 10% abv. I tend to get better attenuation than the calculator predicts, so probably more. I may tone down the dextrose to keep things around the 10% mark.

My main concern is whether I have too big a hop addition at the 10 and 0 min marks. I mean, even Pliny uses quite a bit less from what I remember. So do you guys think this plan is ridiculous? (Edit: I guess it's hard to define ridiculous. I'm not worried about the IBUs, I'm just wondering if there comes a point where it's just too much hops flavor, even in this big a beer.)

Thanks for your time!

https://www.brewtoad.com/recipes/winter-warmer-iipa

9.0 lb Liquid Malt Extract - Light - (60%)
4.0 lb 2-Row (US) - (26.6%)
1.5 lb Dextrose (Corn Sugar) (10%)
0.5 lb Caramel/Crystal 60L (US) (3%)

2.0 oz Columbus (US) 60 min Boil Pellet 12.5%

2.0 oz Amarillo (US) 10 min Boil Pellet 6.9%
2.0 oz Chinook (US) 10 min Boil Pellet 11.8%
2.0 oz Cascade (US) 10 min Boil Pellet 6.8%
2.0 oz Simcoe (US) 10 min Boil Pellet 13.0%

3.0 oz Amarillo (US) 0 min Boil Pellet 6.9%
3.0 oz Cascade (US) 0 min Boil Pellet 6.8%
3.0 oz Chinook (US) 0 min Boil Pellet 11.8%
2.0 oz Simcoe (US) 0 min Boil Pellet 13.0%