refrigerator or upright freezer

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Dillinja666

Reaction score
so im looking to buy a used refrigerator or upright freezer. Which would be better to use with one of those cheapo temp controllers? Would the controller be able to control the freezers temp enough to not freeze my beer and shock my ale yeast? As you can tell im new to all this. I think i would mostly be making ales too, but of course that can always change.

thanks
:D:drunk::tank::ban::mug::cross:

I have both and have controllers on both... I personally like the upright freezer better as it was easy to clear the shelves out and have a flat surface to set my fermenter. If you are looking for storage space though, the refrigerator is most likely what you want.

Since you are buying used, it may come down to what you can actually find for sale....

I assume you are looking for fermentation control, based on your description?

Both will work. The refrigerator is going to have a freezer on top of it most likely, and the freezer won't stay all that cold (certainly not freezing) if you have controller on the power supply. I do believe you can store ingredients in it however.

The upright freezer may have refrigerant running through the shelves so it becomes difficult/impossible to move/remove them and not ruin the freezer. To me that is a definite no-go. If you can one with the refrigeration lines in the walls, that would be ideal. No lifting in/out like a chest freezer and you might be able to build/leave one shelf in and have capacity for two fermenters.

Hope this helps....

I just started brewing here in Tucson AZ, at 120 degrees in the garage a frig or a freezer is a must here.