Wyeast Belgian Saison #3724 question.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

king

Reaction score
Fermentation started about 6 hours after I pitched 2 packs of this yeast. I'm relatively new to brewing but thus far I've been able to smell the airlock of my previous batches and know that it isn't infected. But this is the first one that smells off. It's a lot more pungent than any of my other batches. Kind of funky smelling. I'm wondering if anyone has experience with this strain and can reassure me that this isn't my first infected batch.

Ok so I read a lot more about this yeast on the forums and guess it is just how this yeast smells. I didn't know how to describe it at first but I guess its the "banana bread" smell that I'm getting. So for now I'll just keep the temperature high and see how it goes. Thanks for any input.

This one definitely has a "funk" factor to it. Mine smelled while it was fermenting at 80°F and at 72-74°F, but they taste great.

plus, you're not going to see bacterial or brett fermentation happening that quickly, if you pitched enough clean, healthy yeast, that is probably what is fermenting the wort.

Last night I took a gravity reading from this batch (and a taste), and everything seem to be going pretty well. My gravity after the boil was at about 1.071 (I know, high for a saison. this was my first recipe with a sugar addition and I wasn't aware that you have to calculate sugar at 100% efficiency. now i know). The gravity last night, 9 days after pitching, was around 1.040. My question is whether or not I should leave it in the primary to clean up, down to around 1.020 or should I go ahead and put it in the secondary here in the next week, at about 14 days. Any suggestions?