new brewer wanting to tweak recipe

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

zjhoss

Reaction score
I am new to brewing, as well as to this forum, so I apologize if I have posted in the wrong section. I am opening my first (hopefully successful) batch tomorrow... the anticipation is killing me! I have a few slight concerns, which I won't even bother mentioning...

What's killing me even more however, is my eagerness to tackle batch #2!!

Due to my inexperience, and wanting to simply get the process down (you gotta have your fundamentals!) I have begun my brewing journey by using Brewers Best ingredient kits. I started with IPA, and have already picked up my second.

What I would LIKE to do is to sub the hops in my new American Pale Ale kit, with Citra only. (without getting too technical for my ability)

the AA% of the Citra I bought are as follows: pellets-13.9% and whole-15.6%

My recipe calls for 2 oz Cascade bittering at boil for and 1.5 Willamette aroma at the end. That's it.

I am afraid of over-hopping and would like any advice as to how to approach this correctly.

I currently have 5 oz of Citra pellets and 1 oz of citra whole (would like to try dry hopping)

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you

Yikes - settle down!

Go look up SMASH. Get to know the various grains and hops. Understand what characteristics they bring to the party.

When I try a recipe I brew it as posted first, then I play with it so I understand what my modifications do to the taste, body and overall mouthfeel. How do you know what you're doing until you taste the original recipe? Go look up some of the recipe threads and check out how they evolve as folks brew it, then brew it again with changes.

Most of all, have fun and enjoy the hobby!