Is pulping or juicing better?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

nissed as a pewt

Reaction score
Hi all, newbie here!

After several weekend walks past blackberry bushes and elderberry trees a spark was lit that I would have a go at making wine.

Having read various websites etc. the general rule with elderberry (and other fruits) is to pur boiling water on them then mash them and that they have very high tannin levels?

I was wondering what would happen if i extracted the juice from them in my juicer rather than mashing in hot water? There would be more liquid/juice and less must to syphen off the top of. Would this be like an unconcentrated kit so does the skin, seeds and fibre add to the wine?

Things like apples must juice far better than mashing?

I have a freezer full of blackberrys and elder's waiting be transformed

Thanx in advance
Rob

I'm not sure of the "correct" answer, but I know that for blackberries freezing them is best because it breaks it down to get more juice. Then I put them in a straining bag and throw them in my primary. I pour the hot water over it, and make sure I add pectic enzyme. (By the time this sits in your primary for 5 days, there is nothing left of the fruit except the gunk in the bag). You will get a pectin haze from fruits that are pulpy, and pectic enzyme helps to break it down. I would NEVER put blackberries in a juicer for wine because of the pectin (and seeds).