53 gallon Bourbon Barrel aging techniques

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pbaron

Reaction score
~~~Preface: I have been home-brewing for about a year now, so I'm still relatively new at it; that being said if this is a stupid question I apologize.~~~

I recently found a Bourbon Barrel for $50 that a local brewery used for a beer recently. I impulsively asked my wife to go buy it (which she did because she's a pretty damn amazing woman) for me since I've been wanting to get an oak barrel to age some beer in. What I didn't necessarily realize is that it's all of 53 gallons; I currently am only set up to brew in 5 gallon batches, 10 max (two carboys, one 7 gal, and one 5.5 gal).

So here's my dilemma: can I brew a normal sized batch and rack it safely to the oak barrel without risk of oxidization? If so how? If not, anyone wanna help me brew 53 gallons of beer to age :cross:

oak breathes, and as it does it absorbs some beer, with that small of a batch I dont think you would end up with much. Although I am not sure if the amount of absorbtion is static or porportional to the volume.

I think given the large surface area and the small volume, oxidation would be an issue.

If I lived in colorado I would love offer a 10 gal batch to blend with with a few other people. mmmmmm brettanomyces

You need to do a group brew and fill the sucker up all at once.

+1. I would think that it wouldn't be hard to find some brewers that would be interested in helping you out with this project. If you don't know that many off the top of your head I would put an ad out on craigslist. Knowing that most homebrewers hang out there quite often.

pbaron said:
I recently found a Bourbon Barrel for $50 that a local brewery used for a beer recently.