I'm new to kegging- Thinking of doing a H2O test run- am I over thinking this?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Mikethepoolguy

Reaction score
Well thats it, replace the o-rings in my ball-lock kegs, clean, sanitize, fill (with water) pressurize, chill, wait, test. When I'm confident, repeat with beer.

I'm just a paranoid kegger newb that doesnt want to waste too much beer.

I currently have 3 empty kegs and 5 full fermentors and I am ready to go.

It would be pretty hard for you to waste any beer by doing something wrong when kegging. Practice good sanitation and just make sure when you first fill your keg and pressurize it, that you purge the headspace of any O2 by pulling the pressure release valve a couple times.

if they'll hold co2, they'll hold beer. what i do with new kegs (currently have 9), i charge them with co2, let them sit for a couple days, then pull the pressure release. if they came charged with co2, and usually do, then i test them when they arrive. if they have a hiss left after shipping, it's all good. never had any problems :D

Yeah a dry run with water is over thinking it for sure. It is a good thing to do to give you a better idea of how the system works though. If you are unsure how it all goes together and how it works put about a gallon in so you can see it in action. That'll also help you learn those little things like shooting beer (water) all over when a poppet sticks and such, lol.

If you or your family like soda though a carbed keg of water isn't a bad idea. With syrups you can have your own soda fountain.