Experimental idea, new to advanced brewing!

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Kadmium

Reaction score
Ok guys, so I am fairly new to brewing in general, but have that whole "can of wort, hot water, dextrose in a beer fermenter kit" pretty down pact, and was thinking of experimenting. I am going to first try with a simple experiment on conditioning beer with fruit? My theory is to use a nice blen of traditional British Ale hops / wort etc and let ferment in the primary for around 7 days (or untill done) then rack into a glass carboy for conditioning/secondary. My theory is, when racking it off to rack this onto frozen / boiled raspberries (about 2 pounds) and let it all condition in there for 2 weeks or so, then bottle. Will this

A) kill the yeast? (doubt it but still worries me)

B) Cause a funky beer?

C) do anything to add to the flavour?

D) enhance my beer, or just mess it up, including the bottling?

E) Promote Autolysis? (yeast mass suicide)

thanks in advance!

Maybe you should post some questions on brewing when you're of legal age to drink. The last thing we home brewers want is to have special interest groups lobbying for legislation that eventually stamps out our hobby because we knowingly supported underage drinking. I hope you can understand this perspective. It's not a snub.

erbiumyag said:
Maybe you should post some questions on brewing when you're of legal age to drink. The last thing we home brewers want is to have special interest groups lobbying for legislation that eventually stamps out our hobby because we knowingly supported underage drinking. I hope you can understand this perspective. It's not a snub.

Maybe he isn't from the U.S. If you notice the way he spelled "flavor"?

flavour