Hello from Charlotte, NC

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

andrewhcu

Reaction score
Hi All,

I've been brewing off and on for about 10 years and just recently was turned on this site and think it's fantastic. I've already found tons of helpful info.

We're in the process of remodeling our kitchen and my wife has signed off on my dream to build in a kegerator to our bar area - will love the fresh draft beer but also not having to bottle anymore! Only problem is I want to do it economically and stylishly. Anyone have any advice for setting up an under-counter kegerator? Front venting fridges are expensive, rear venting fridges require air flow and I think the required clearances will look bad, and chest freezers open up and there will be a counter above it.

Worse comes to worst I can stick it back in the laundry room where style and airflow wouldn't be as much of a concern and the options open up a lot...just would love to get it in our "bar area" if possible. Any advice is welcomed!

Thanks!
Andrew

Sorry I missed this, Andrew. Been busy. :(

Welcome! Check the stickies in the kegging area for advice, then if you can ask specific questions people can help you out from there.

Definitely look into keezers, though. You can modify the top of it so that it matches your counter -- it could be part of your counter. You could add towers through the top of it, or put the faucets through the collar. There are a lot of ways to go, limited by your budget and imagination only.

If you do a rear-venting fridge, you could hide an exhaust fan behind a facade around the level of the kickboard, depending on trim etc. I couldn't say much more without seeing pictures.

Welcome, and enjoy the site. :D