is something wrong with my hefeweisen?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

madkap_78

Reaction score
I brewed an extract version of the blood orange hefeweisen on tuesday of this week. When I pitched the yeast the wort was at 70 degrees, everything was fine, fermentation started within 24 hours and the airlock was bubbling like crazy and I had a thick white foamy layer of about 3in thick on top of beer. I decided to bring the temp down slowly over the next two days to 66 degrees. Well when I checked it about an hour ago the thick layer has dropped to nothing and the airlock is bubbling like maybe once every five secs. Im new to brewing, Ive only brewed about 6 beers so far and this is my first hefeweisen. All the other beers Ive brewed after two days the airlock was still bubbling like crazy and the layer on top of the beer was still thick. They didnt slow down like this hefeweisen is doing into atleast about day 5 to 7. Did I do something wrong by dropping the temp to 66 degrees? Did I drop the temp too soon? Could it be something else? Am I just worrying too much?

Well each yeast will behave differently, some go crazy for a day and some for a few days. Check your gravity after 7 days and you should be getting closer to your FG.