How do Breweries Lower Costs

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

efreem01

Reaction score
Hey all,

I've been brewing beer for a few months now and i'm curious about something. Until now, i've been doing all extract w grain and mini-mash brews at 5 gallons. I'm spending between $30-$50 for each batch. How do micro breweries drop costs to make much of a profit at ~1.50/bottle? At some LHBS, the bottle itself is twenty-five to fifty cents. Luckily i don't have to pay for bottles. A co-worker of mine gives empties generously and i give him a 6-pack of homebrew every now and then.

When you start doing all-grain brewing, do the costs of the ingredients drop? The equipment costs more for the all-grain but i bet it pays for itself. I'm just trying to figure this out since a local Micro-brewery on Long Island (Blue Point Brewery) is selling their beer at $8.99/6 pack. They also have to pay for distribution, personnel and all the other fun things that businesses need.

Cut all the prices you pay in half and it's still more than a bit more than what an operational brewery pays.

Ever price out a 55lb bag of malt? 2 row for $0.50 a pound. Now multiply your order by a hundred or a thousand times and you're probably down to $.30 a pound.

Two pounds of malt will make 10 bottles of very strong beer.
Add a dime's worth of hops
And a nickel's worth of yeast.

Recyclable beer bottles get $0.10 in Michigan but guess what... it's the legislature that set that price. Offer a brewery a bunch of dirty bottles for a dime and they'll say no thanks. It's too expensive for them. So what do YOU think they are paying for clean bottles?