High Gravity - Terminal?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Nic0

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
A friend and I made an experimental batch brewed on the 20th of August, so it's been in the primary fermenter for about 20 days.

The OG was 1.077 at 60°F. I didn't take a gravity reading again until yesterday morning, which was 1.020 at 60°F. I'm planning to transfer it to a secondary fermenter. But I've never done anything with an OG this high before... should I expect it to take significantly more time to drop down or could this 1.020 be terminal gravity?

Perhaps I could pitch another batch of yeast at transfer? We used Wyeast Sstrain 1335 -British Ale II. Supposedly has an alcohol tolerance of about 10% ABV, which I don't think we would quite get to with an OG of 1.077. I'll check again tonight but there hasn't been any major airlock bubbling activity in several days, but there is still the occational bubble. I plan to take another gravity reading before transferring but I'm not expecting anything significantly different.

Thoughts? Suggestions?

Thanks!

Nic

Rough estimate puts you at 74% apparent attenuation. Wyeast states 73-76%. So it sounds like you could be at your FG... as long as the 1.020 is a stable gravity.

ayoungrad gives the attenuation as being within range. We dont' know enough about the fermentability of the wort to know if it should be above or below that range. So if you take another reading in a few days and it doesn't change, it's done.

But honestly, if you pitched enough yeast, and fermented at the proper temp, 20 days should do it.

Taste it, but IMO I would call 1.020 a bit high. If you like it, fine, but if not, warm that guy up a bit gradually and see if that doesn't help. 60* is pretty low.