Help with IPA water adjustments

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Joshua618

Reaction score
I am just getting started with water adjustments and would like some help and opinions about brewing an IPA with 7 SRM and around 65-70 IBU.

Here is what I have so far:

Starting Water (ppm):
Ca: 4.7
Mg: 0.892
Na: 33.8
Cl: 27.8
SO4: 7
CaCO3: 40.5

Mash / Sparge Vol (gal): 5.25 / 4.2
Dilution Rate: 0%

Adjustments (grams) Mash / Boil Kettle:
CaCO3: 1 / 0.8
CaSO4: 5 / 4
CaCl2: 0 / 0
MgSO4: 4 / 3.2
NaHCO3: 0 / 0
NaCl: 0 / 0
HCL Acid: 0 / 0
Lactic Acid: 0 / 0

Mash Water / Total water (ppm):
Ca: 82 / 82
Mg: 20 / 20
Na: 34 / 34
Cl: 28 / 28
SO4: 226 / 226
CaCO3: 65 / 65

RA (mash only): -5 (5 to 10 SRM)
Cl to SO4 (total water): 0.12 (Very Bitter)

If this is your first time playing around with the water, I would go over 150ppm on the SO4. I find that when the SO4 gets over 150ppm, it really increases the bitterness to the point it becomes rather unpleasant but YMMV.

I am just getting started with water adjustments and would like some help and opinions about brewing an IPA with 7 SRM and around 65-70 IBU.

Here is what I have so far:

Starting Water (ppm):
Ca: 4.7
Mg: 0.892
Na: 33.8
Cl: 27.8
SO4: 7
CaCO3: 40.5