Post your method of choosing when to harvest....not HOW to harvest.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BootsyFlanootsy

Reaction score
I'm still learning how to judge the proper time to harvest and thought it'd be a nice idea to have a thread for people to share their experiences/ suggestions/ thoughts on the topic. I know everyone says to wait till the cones go "papery", but maybe some people can share their methods of gauging how far from harvest the cones are by certain stages of the growth etc. Good idea? Y/N?

It's so tempting to harvest when they're huge and green, but you really need to wait until you've got a little browning on the edges and they crunch and quickly "rebound" when you squeeze them.

I've just taken out the ladder and scoured bines every few days once I've found a cone or two that was ready.

Will the hop "fragrance" be detectable from cones still on the bine? If so, does it increase as the hop approaches the best harvest time? Trying to determine if there is a smell test to guide me so I don't harvest too early.

I'm into my 4th year of hop growing and I know that I've harvested too soon in the first few years. It's so tempting and you don't want them to rot on the vine. Yes, wait until they are papery. It's hard to imagine what that means if you've never been told, see, here, this is what a papery cone feels like. Get a napkin, like a fast food napkin, and roll it into a tight ball. Squeeze it between two fingers. Here that sound? That's it.

Now put a few drops of water on it and let it soak through. Squeeze again. That's a cone that's not ready yet.

You can also feel the moisture level to an extent. They don't feel cool to the touch when they're ready to pick.