Thinking about up scaling

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BrewingRugger

Reaction score
I have been brewing for about 2 years exact and AG all 5 gallons and now I am thinking about doing 10 gallon batches. I don't know what equipment I would need to make this move. What would I need to make a 10 gal AG batches?

I would start with a keggle and a big cooler MLT.

Well I guess that all depends on what you already have. What size is your kettle and mash tun?
What about your cooling device?
If you have been brewing for 2 years you should already know what you need in order to brew larger batches.
Are you sure you need you want to upsize? Are you going through your beer too quickly lately?

I've also been toying with the idea of upscaling for a while now. I recently moved from an area where I didn't know many people to one where I've got some thirsty friends, so 5 gals can go pretty quick. The biggest thing for me is that my current setup requires me to do some manual lifting to transfer liquids. I can see that being a backbreaker with 10 gal batches, so a pump is definitely in order. And at that point, you may as well build a HERMS or RIMS, right? So it's basically been my cheapness holding me back.

However, I think I might try "high gravity brewing" for my next batch. Basically, I'm going to tweak the recipe to collect enough wort to boil down to 7 gals, split between 2 fermenters, and top off with some pre-boiled water to get back up to 10. If that goes well, I may just stick with that system for my more popular brews for session drinking with the buds and keep doing 5 gal batches of higher grav beers for more "contemplative" evenings.