Cider Kits...?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

clown573

Reaction score
What is the best to get and what is ACTUALLY in them!?
what else do i need to purchase

im a newbie to all this and just decided wanna give it a go

clown573 said:
What is the best to get and what is ACTUALLY in them!?
what else do i need to purchase

im a newbie to all this and just decided wanna give it a go

I don't know about all cider kits but all that was in my last one was apple juice concentrate. But it still worked out far cheaper than buying the equivalent amount of apple juice/AJ concentrate...and it came with yeast.

You'll want to add about 1 kg of dextrose, maybe more depending on how much alcohol you want. And some cider or ale yeast, possible champagne yeast if you want a really dry cider.

I don't know if you have the rest of the equipment but seeing as you posted that link with the barrell and and stuff I'll assume you don't.

The equipment that is essential is:

* Fermenting barrel (food grade plastic) that can hold more than 5 gallons/24 L
* A lid for this barrel that is air tight, and an air lock.
* A tap for the barrel
* A bottling cane
* Bottle capper
* Bottle caps
* Bottles
* Sanitising solution (household bleach can be used if you have to)
* Hydrometer - not essential but handy to have, interesting too.

I think that's pretty much it.

You could try that kit - you will have fun.
Next time you'd probably be better finding a local home brew shop to get equipment and decent yeast (neither will cost you the earth) and thinking about using 'real' apple juice (if you can find it or crush your own) or concentrate. You'll continue having fun and you'll also be able to taste the improvements in your brews.