Newbie question regarding slightly flubbed recipe

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

roostra

Reaction score
hey folks,

I started brewing for the first time in July after many years of enjoying the fine homebrew work of my friend, the crawdad. I was pretty instantly hooked (my third batch is in primary at the moment). My first batch (a european style brown) is in bottles and is decent. My second batch (a very generic blonde ale) is in the secondary.

So for my third batch, I gave a go at the partial mash version of an Old Speckled Hen clone. https://www.homebrewtalk.com/f64/old-speckled-hen-21132/

While I was able to track down all the ingredients and do a decent job of the process from partial mash to fermenter, i made one rather substantial misread of the recipe. Instead of using 3 lbs, 9 oz of DME that the recipe called for, I used 3 lbs. (I somehow didn't see the second number - i plead beer-induced blindspot).

I had some concerns about fermentation that were mostly allayed by Revvy's oft-quoted post on the subject and I know that the beer is probably not ruined, but I was wondering what to expect as a result of using too litle DME. I would assume that it would be a lower alcohol content, due to less sugars for the yeast to chow down on. Any ideas on what it might do to the flavor?

Thanks,

roostra

ps - any if anyone can point me in the direction of a really good imperial ipa partial mash recipe, i would be greatly appreciative