Slow fermentation????

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mstev50

Reaction score
For my 4th brew I tried an extract Dogfish Head 60 clone. My OG was a little high 1.078 and I only pitched 1 pack of Wyeast 1056. It's been consistantly bubbling about every 10 seconds for 10 days. I checked the gravity tonight and it was only down to 1.038. Should I add more yeast or just sit back and give it more time on its own?

Are you saying it's stopped at 1.038? Or is it still bubbling away? In my opinion, every 10 seconds isn't all that slow (assuming you're using the 3-piece lock... I've no experience with the other kind).

By slow I mean 10 days and nowhere close to FG. Temp has been 66-68. My previous OGs were in the mid to upper 1.05s and didn't know what to expect with this one.

Thanks for the reassurance Dave. This one has definitely been working longer than my previous ones. Checked it again today and its down to 1.026, so its still doing its thang. I'll try to ignore it for a few more days and see where we're at then! :mug:

Starter=good. Pick up a pound of light DME with your next ingredient order, and keep it on hand to make starters. I just had a batch ferment out to 82% attenuation in under 48 hours and I owe a lot of that to pitching a starter.

On the other hand, I've had big beers that didn't get the starter treatment and might not have been oxygenated optimally that did exactly what you are describing... the gravity would tick down like 1-2 points a day at best, and it took almost 4 weeks to get close to FG.