complete noob, dont know where to start

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

wizzard

Reaction score
hi folks, as you can see im new to the forum. i have never made beer, and up until recently i didnt realy want to. i have always been a wine drinker, but a friend convinced me to start drinking beer and i wanted to see if i could manage to make some.
i have been making wine for about 3 years now, i enjoy it greatly. but the turnaround time for wine is quite high.
so what i want to know is,

(1) how much different is the process

(2) what different equipment is needed? i have glass carboys and a bottling bucket, and pretty much any peice of wine making equipment you could think of.

(3) can wine yeast be used to make beer? (i have alot on hand)

(4) how much sugar do you add for a 5 gallon batch?

(5) and most importantly, where might i find a site that will tell me the basics and get me rolling?

thank you all in advance for any help offered

How to Brew is about your best bet. It's got everything you need to know to get started and the 1st version is free.

To answer briefly

1 - quite a bit different
2 - you'll need a brew pot - that's probably the biggest thing
3 - Not sure, but I don't think so
4 - none
5 - how to brew

(1) how much different is the process.
I'd say that it can be quite similar. Add water to concentrate pitch yeast ferment
You can make your own extract like with wine,
(2) what different equipment is needed? i have glass carboys and a bottling bucket, and pretty much any peice of wine making equipment you could think of.
The Carboy will need to be large not a 1 gallon.
It depends if you are going All Grain or not.
(3) can wine yeast be used to make beer? (i have alot on hand)