Do I have a broken regulator?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Ale to the Chief

Reaction score
I am brand new to kegging and just got the system I got for Christmas set up. I am worried though that my regulator may not be functioning correctly. I am using the 'set and forget' method to carbonate my beer and have the regulator set to 12.

I check on it throughout the day and notice that it will lose a few psi every few hours. Also, when I pour a sample glass the pressure drops down and doesn't come back up. Should it shoot back up to 12 right away or does it take some time?

THanks

I know this sounds very simple, but are all your connections open? I.E. Cylinder valve, shutoff after the regulator? Just something to check.

Joe

Is the beer at temperature yet? Pressure will drop as it gets colder.

or have you checked for leaks with StarSan or soapy solution?

I know this sounds very simple, but are all your connections open? I.E. Cylinder valve, shutoff after the regulator? Just something to check.

Joe

I will double check but I am pretty sure. What's weird is that if I pull the relief valve on top to release all the pressure from the keg, the regulator will kick on and bring it back up to pressure. But if I pour a beer, pressure will drop from 12 to 9 or so and then not raise back up.

Is the beer at temperature yet? Pressure will drop as it gets colder.

or have you checked for leaks with StarSan or soapy solution?

Yes, it's been in the fridge for 3 days now and yes, I sprayed all connections with Star San and didn't see any bubbles.