Brewer's Gold hops in Pete's Wicked Ale Clone

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Yooper

Ale's What Cures You!
Staff member
Admin
Mod
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I'm in the middle of a PM of Pete's Wicked Ale clone. I just opened the bittering hops and WOW! I've never used Brewer's Gold before but they smell so good! I'm excited about this brew. I wish they made air fresheners for your car in hops scents. I'd take Willamette and Brewer's Gold hops. Awesome smell in my house right now.

Recipe:
1/2 lb Vienna malt
1/2 lb Crystal 60L
1/4 lb chocolate mald
1 3/4 lb two row

5 1/2 lb pale LME

1 oz Brewer's Gold (9.1%AA) 60 minutes
1/2 oz EKG (6.0%AA) 15 minutes

Lorena

Interesting, the one time I used Brewer's Gold there wasn't much of an aroma. Maybe I got the American hop & you have the German version?

Man, I have not seen a Pete's Wicked Ale around these parts in ages! it was all the rage about 10 years ago. Is it still a popular beer?

Cheesefood said:
I remember a Pete's Wicked Strawberry Blonde that tasted like strawberry soda added to Old Style.