I'm a noob and I'm scared

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

KMKsuburbannoise

Reaction score
(HERE is a QUESTION: I am not sure how to use the hydrometer? Do I use it as soon as I start to ferment or in a few days or both? and how do I know what the reading should be?)
(QUESTION: before i bottle i add sugar. Do I add sugar to the beer or in another container)

Ok, i get it. I'm am pretty dumb. I am going to get rid of my explanation on how to brew. I will leave my questions in hopes of an answer.

no offense, but I am going to suggest you read up a little more on the procedure - I recommend starting with John Palmer's "How to Brew" - available online (http://www.howtobrew.com/).

There are definitely some flaws in your proposed procedure - or at least in your explanation of them. Read through the first couple of chapters of How to Brew and then come back with questions you still have. and I would probably not pay too much attention to any kit instructions - they are notoriously inaccurate (or at least, they tend to lead you astray)

close, but ... not close. no boiling before adding grain.. never mind. all that procedure mentions almost gives me brain-freeze. like lem says, read up on the procedures a little more

I have read directions and read the stickies. I have some questions.

I understand you boil for 15 to 20 minutes and add the grain.
No. Don't boil. Get a thermometer and bring the temperature to 160 or so. Turn OFF the pot, and add the bag of grain, stirring it well to thoroughly wet the grain. NEVER boil grain, or add grain at a boiling temperature.

You then boil again for 30 minutes and then add some hops and keep boiling for 30 more minutes and add the rest of the hops.