Need Help ASAP with inactive lager.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Brounds24

Reaction score
this is my first time making a lager and I pitched WLP830, didn't use a starter which I have found is my first strike, at 29C. I waited to see airlock activity and began to lager at 10-11C. Since I've dropped the temp I have seen no airlock activity. Is this because I only used one vial of yeast without a starter? If i let it sit in the primary a month or so will it ferment properly. Need to know what to do. I have a dry yeast (US-05) as a backup if I need it. I want to wait a week check the gravity and see if its lower, and repeat until FG is reached. My bock was at 1.086 and shooting for a final of 1.016. Any suggestions?

okay I'll raise the temp to 15C. I have a primary I can't see into, so how can I tell when when enough Kruasen has formed I don't want to open the primary during fermentation if possible. Roughly how long should this take? If i see airlock activity resume is it safe to lower?

Thanks!

Can you peek through the airlock hole? That's what I do, plus shine a light at the side and see the thickness of the krausen since my primary lid is a PITA to get off.

Do not take it to 15C. Fermentation is optimum between 10-13C
Lager yeast are not nearly as active as ale yeast and you may not see any airlock activiy for quite a while.
You don't say when you pitched. You want to start it cold (below 10C ) then work your way up to 11 or 12C. There may not be much activity. The only sure way to tell if fermentation is happening is to do a gravity check. Leave it at 11C and check the gravity in a week, if it's at the FG leave it another 3 days