Mash Tun Sizing...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

oregonmike

Reaction score
At this point I am new to All Grain and slowly building/buying up the equipment necessary to brew up standard size batched.

Was at Home Depot today looking and water/drink coolers... They had 5 gallon ones for $19 or 10 gallon for $40.

Which is more economical at this point, the 5 or 10 gallon? As I don't think I would be doing the quantity necessary for larger batches anytime soon could I get away with the smaller 5 gallon or should I be looking long term? I believe I would be able to get a larger one easily down the line if needed...

Thanks,
Mike

You will want a 10 gallon cooler for a 5 gallon batch.

I had the same question when I started looking around. Many said that a 5 gallon would do if you planned on keeping your brews under a 1.060 OG. But if you plan on ever going above that, a 5 gallon will not support the grain bill and water necessary. So I went with a 10 gallon and have been quite satisfied.

Also, aside from high gravity beers, if you are considering batch sparging, you will want the space.

In short:

5 gallon batches - 10g+ Mash Tun
10 gallon batches - 15-20g Mash Tun

Doing 10 gallon batches doesn't really save you money, only time. I started doing 10g batches because I figured I was brewing for 3+ hours anyway, might as well end up with twice as much beer. That being said, if you are going to get a cooler/ice chest as your mash tun, just go with a bigger one. The cost difference between a small and large cooler is not that much, so you might as well get one that will work for 5 or 10g batches.