So my other hobby is plants...

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pjewell

Reaction score
I really enjoy the garden. I grow tomatoes, peppers, corn, egg plant, and all the wonderful bounty that exists on Earth.

One thing that is missing is hops. So I researched for a bit and its best to start hops by a rhizome (root) because it takes several seasons to start producing.

I am new to brewing as well. So my question to you is, what are a few hop varieties that you cannot live without or what are a few that are well rounded that can go into many different beers?

It really depends on the beer you make.

A lot of people like the citrusy flavor of Cascades. If your taste is more English style beers, you might consider Fuggles, Goldings, etc....

I planted my hops in large pots. It really only takes about two seasons for them to get going. And with some hops and the right conditions, you can get a good amount first year.

So plant the hops that will fit the type of beers you make.

I agree with McBrew's main point about planting hops that will fit with the styles that you make most often so that you can really utilize your own hops in your brewery. Since you're new to homebrewing and probably haven't quite figured out what your favorite styles are yet, my recommendation is to plant three or four varieties that work with different styles:

1. American hop (Cascade, Centennial, etc)
2. Noble hop (Hallertauer, Tettnang, Saaz)
3. British hop (Golding, Fuggle)
4. High alpha (Nugget, Magnum, etc)

By planting a few different varieties of hops, you're not limited in using your homegrown hops to explore brewing different beer styles as you get deeper into homebrewing. You'll be able to brew classic American and British ales, German lagers, and even Belgian brews, too.