I need a great wine recipe but don't know what to look for.

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Suthrncomfrt1884

Reaction score
I'm a wine newb I guess you could say. I've made more beers than I can count, but I'm just now concidering the jump to wine for a little extra variety.

I'm wanting to get a wine started for family members who don't like beer, but I have no idea what to look for since I neither drink wines or know the first think about creating a recipe for wine.

Any chance I can get something done and bottled by Christmas to give as presents? If they need to age in the bottle, I can let them know, so that's fine.

Otherwise, if it's a really good wine and needs aging in secondary, I can always do it this year and give it away next year.

So, I suppose I'm looking for some really good wine recipes. Not fruity wine. I'm looking for something more like a Merlot or another dark red wine. It doesn't really have to be grapes I suppose, as long as it tastes great and not like dessert.

I'm also looking for something fairly inexpensive and not a kit if that's possible.

Any suggestions?

I dont think you will be able to make a wine and have bottled by this Christmas. However, I just purchased and made a Merlot from Williams http://www.williamsbrewing.com/CALIFORNIA_MERLOT_KIT_P1295C165.cfm. This is my first kit wine. I have made several fruit wines. I have heard great things about this kit. I have it in my glass carboy. I am trying to bulk age it for up to a year.

there is no way to be positive any wine started today can be bottled by Christmas. you do have a chance of making bottle bombs as presents(not good) At minimum good chance there will be sediment in bottles. You started to late really. We say with wine, rule one is patience, rushing= trouble