Please review my first recipe

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Yeastie

Reaction score
Ok this is my very first recipe, I'm quite new to this so I need any advice I can get. I especially need help on the hop schedule. I'm not going for an IPA/hop bomb so please don't suggest 5 oz of Chinook or anything.

5.0 Gallon
1 pkg Nottingham dry yeast

13.00 lb Marris Otter (2 row)
1lb Cara Pils
1lb Vienna malt
1lb Munich malt
.75lb (12 oz) crystal 60L
.75lb (12 oz) chocolate malt
.25lb (4 oz) roasted barley

1 oz Tettnang (60 min)
1 oz Chinook (35 min)
.5 oz Williamette (30 min)
.5 oz Williamette (15 min)
1 oz Kent Golding (5 min)

What's the goal? English Brown maybe? I can't tell what you're going for exactly.

In general, I think the chinook is a bit out of place. It's a very good bittering hop. I've not used it at 45 minutes except for a real hop bomb myself.

I'm not familiar with Tettnang.

What are you trying to go for here? Imperial Porter or something?

Looks interesting, but out of balance to me. With decent efficiency that is going to be a barely wine type OG, but black, without that much hop bitterness to balance it out. With a big boil you may still get some decent extraction, but still around 50 IBU for a 1.090+ beer seems like it is going to end sweet without bitter balance. You could easy be at 75 and not be a hop bomb with that much sugar in there.

Without knowing what you are going for it is a little hard.

Quite frankly I'm not sure what style I'm going for. Any ideas to balance it out? Should I reduce the pale malt, I'm open to a completely different hop schedule. I am going for a strong beer with medium-high alcohol 8-10% like a stout but not quite as dark and with more malty flavor and good flavor hops, medium bitterness.