Masterbuilt or Bradley electric smoker opinions?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

JonW

Supporting Member
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I'm in the market for a new smoker. I've been using an electric Brinkmann for several years and it's just about at the end of it's life.

I really think I'd like to stay with electric as it is easy to deal with and I don't want to have to mess with propane tanks. I could do NG if it is an option, but I do like the simplicity of electric. I don't want to have to babysit the thing too much, so I like the temp control of the newer electrics.

Currently, I've looked at the Masterbuilt 30 & 40 inch smokers and some of the Bradley ones. There are benefits to both that I like - size and digital control on the MB, but indirect smoke on the Bradley. I'm kind of turned off on buying the pre-made pucks for the Bradley, but I would only be smoking probably once a month, so having to use the pucks probably wouldn't be a big problem.

Any opionions about these smokers?

http://masterbuilt.com/prod-smokers-digital.html
http://www.bradleysmoker.com/digital-smoker-4-rack.asp

Why not charcoal or wood as a fuel instead of electric? I am not a fan of either smoker. If I was to buy an electric smoker it would be the Fast Eddie FEC100.

You're obviously coming from a professional smoking perspective, which is not where I'm at. For once a month smoking I don't think I'll be checking out the $3,600 Fast Eddie.

I mostly like the idea of electric with temp control so I don't have to babysit the thing and check temps much. I don't really have a lot of time to devote to smoking, so I pretty much start it up and walk away.