Entering Homebrew Competitions...?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

BrianTheBrewer

Reaction score
Has anyone here ever entered into any big homebrew competitions (and done well or won anything) ?

Just wondering. I have never done this before and I am thinking about entering into a few in the next few months.

- Brian

I've entered some small ones and placed. Actually getting ready to send some entries in for another one: War of the Worts IV.

"Doing well" is relative- I'd highly suggest doing it to get honest, impartial feedback on your beers as well as ways to improve your technique. The comments might piss you off, but they will make you a better brewer.

Big or small, it's definitely worth it.

I just started entering competitions myself. After finally progressing through the 6 initial phases of being a homebrewer I figured that I was ready.

1 - Damn this is good, I can't believe that I really made this!
2 - I must buy more equipment immediately so I can do this all the time.
3 - Someone else's beer is better than mine, I must need to go AG or something.
4 - Every beer I make is the best beer in the world and I'm not afraid to tell people so.
5 - Every beer I make has something that can be improved upon the next time I brew it.
6 - Most of my beers are good, some area exceptional, some are poor... send the exceptional ones to competitions,

I've entered a few. Placed in styles a couple times that won me a pretty ribbon, but that's about it. I'm actually now trying to plan out what I will send in for this years NHBC....

Ya there are a few coming up around the Boston area I would like to enter.
I would like to just hear peoples opinions on the beer. If we place or win anything that would be great as well.