Degassing and oxidisation

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mooney

Reaction score
I am An air conditioning engineer. This means I have lots of use full things kicking about in my van.

I have a vacuum pump for evacuating refrigeration pipe work, its a powerfull thing which is used to suck out moisture so can evaporate water at cold temperatures so i'm guessing can evaporate alcohol, with its lower boiling point. Has any one ever used some thing like this for degassing wine? I have seen methods using much smaller hand pumps over long periods of time. could this be a time saver and a half rugged up to a drilled rubber cork? can a Demi John cope with pressure of a vaccume?

I also have welding gear, which comprises oxygen and acetylene. Is this welding grade oxygen any good for oxygenating at the start? Would I just blast it threw an air stone for a few seconds? Any one use pure oxygen for this?

I would not pull a vacuum on a glass carboy or demijohn, at least not indoors. Those things aren't really rated for pressure, so the roughly 14psi it would encounter with a deep vacuum pulled on it might be enough to fracture it.

I think some people do use welding cylinder oxygen to oxygenate, as long as it doesn't contain anything else. I've not used it but of course many things that are normally not flammable will burn quite readily in oxygen, and any hint of oil or grease impinging in the line I think can cause a nice energy release.