Spare parts beer! EXTRAS

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Cheepbeer

Reaction score
Hey all... I have
2.2 lbs of Premier Malt (unhopped)
1 lb of dried breiss amber malt
1 lb of dextrose
1oz UK kent golding hops

How would you guys cook this up?
How much water?
How long to ferment.
when to add hops?

Thanks... Im a newbie who has these supplies on hand and am wondering if they have the potential to make a good beer??

How would you all go about this?

I would do it as a 2.5gallon batch. Use 1/2oz. Hop additions at 60 & 10 min. I would need a 3.8gallon pre boil volume for my system.

Thanks Gils
Are we getting a pretty strong beer at those gallons? Do I add the dry malt after the boil and stir in, or boil it along for the hour
?

Thanks again.

woo-hoo 6.5 sounds good to me... Its boiling away now. Im home alone and have the time to do it right.

Update... I did exactly as you said and got a 1.50 reading at 67 degrees after adding more cool water.... shook it up...Tossed dry yeast... shook it again.

(Boiled it in 1 1/2 gallons and added a 1 & 1/4 gallon of cool water after chilling pot in ice bath to 80..... ended up with 67 degrees.)

I would have boiled it all but I have a broken heelbone and I have to carry this stuff up and down to basement.lol.

When a car is made from left over parts in a garage, it is commonly called a “Rat Racer”. I often do this with grains left over from other recipes and call them “Rat Beers”. That is really a fun thing to do! There are a lot of free websites out there to help develop your recipe. However, I use iBrewMaster for stuff like that.