Fermentation chamber

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Zrab11

Reaction score
Hey,

IM new to homebrewing. Actaully havent even brewed my first batch yet. Just about 3/4 of the way through Palmers book. But i had a question. I feel that the fermenting process is really important and i feel keeping it at the Right tempertaure and not letting it go up or down more than 1 degree is pretty important. Correct me if im wrong.

So i wanted to know what is the simplest and best way to make a fermenting chamber? Ive heard the idea of sitting your carboy in a rubbermaid tub and willing it with water then buying a aquarium heater/thermometer and heating your water up to a desired temp so you can ferment in the 65's and 70's.

Also wondering about using a chest freezer or small fridge?
As i have a already Big 6 ft long freezer for cellaring thats run off a Rancho temp control. It would be sweet to build a box inside the freezer and be able to run like a heat lamp or something in the box and be able to keep the carboy at like 70degress and the beer outside the box thats still in the freezer would stay at 45. That would just be to save space if i didn't do the rubbermaid fish tank idea? But let me know what you have done with a chest freezer or something like it?

I have no basement and i do have a closet i can put my carboys in but i feel that there is alot of room for temp. swing in the closet. And i feel i would like to control it better than just putting it in the closet and hoping it stay within the temp.

Im pretty handy so please shoot me your idea's or what you have done to make a ferment chamber. Or direct me to the right thead that has info on this?
keep in mind i would only need space for 2 carboys. maybe 3.

thanks for anyhelp or advise?