Willamette based PA/IPA recipe advice

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

greenbirds

Reaction score
I'm planning on brewing an extract-based pale ale/IPA (I feel like it might be a tweener) using Willamette finishing hops. My planned recipe is as follows:

5 gals:

7 lbs extra light DME
1 lb caramunich
1/2 lb carapils
1 oz. Bravo hops @ 13.6% AA - boil
1 oz. Willamette @ 4.4% - 20 minutes
1 oz. Willamette @ 4.4% - 5 minutes
1/2 oz. Willamette dry hop

How does this sound to you guys? I'd appreciate any feedback as I'm relatively new to formulating my own recipes. Thanks.

In Beer Alchemy this comes in a little high on the IBU for an American IPA, at about 74, but if you're only doing a partial boil you'll likely not get full utilization of the hops. ABV comes in at ~5.8, but that's based on 75% attenuation, which could very well be higher than that. You might consider using regular light DME instead of extra light, because it looks like the color is supposed to be around 6 SRM, but again, using DME and putting it in early in the boil, you'll likely get a darker beer in the end anyways, so extra light should be fine too.

Doesn't look too bad to me.

I love Willamette and your recipe looks good. I have never dry hopped with them though so maybe someone will come along and relate their experience. How large is your boil volume. If it is less than 3 gallons consider adding at least one half with 15 minutes remaining as you will get better hop extraction and it won't be quite as dark.

Welcome greenbirds! Willamette hops make excellent flavor/aroma hops so I'll bet your IPA turns out great. You could even get away with dry hopping a little more, but I'm a hop head so maybe that's overkill.

cheers :mug:

Thanks for your input.