More Fizz

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

mickchelski

Reaction score
I am new to the forum and I am a novice brewer; just completed my second extract kit. I have been brewing saison style ale.

I have used two different kits, and have been very happy with the flavor profile, alcohol content, color etc. Fermenting temps and times as well as OG and TG have been in line. However, I am not happy with the level of carbonation and head.

I have reviewed various forums and based on my storage time 3 weeks + at 70 degrees + and priming sugar 4.5 oz per five gallon batch. The bottles doo hiss slightly upon uncapping but I feel I should be getting better results.

Also some forums suggest that sometimes the caps are not tight enough. ( I am using a low cost red two handed capper.) Considering the fact that I have had two different kits have the same problem I assume I am having a problem at the bottling stage.

I just recently had someone else's american ale home brew (in swing top bottles) with a super nice head and plenty of carbonation (they said they used a cuo of brown sugar.) I would like to have my brew be similar, can a quarter cup of sugar make that big a difference??

I would like to hear others with more experience thoughts comments or suggestions on the matter.

Instead of using a generic 4.5 oz package of sugar, calculate how much sugar you need to add for the level of carbonation you want and the temperature of the beer at the time of bottling. Any brewing software and several free web-based calculators will be able to do that for you (search "priming sugar calculator", and I'm sure you'll be able to find something).