Red Star Montrachet Yeast

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I am brand new to making hard cider. I have my first gallon batch in a secondary fermentor right now. I added stevia and flavor concentrate for secondary fermentor. Planning on carbonating with Cooper tablets (I've read good reviews)

Right when I racked my first batch, I started my second batch. 3 gallons using red star Montrachet... Does anyone know what I can expect with this yeast? My gravity was at 1.060... will it ferment dry. I'm brand new to this so right now, everything is an experiment.

The yeast does produce a very dry flavor. Adding the concentrate to the secondary will cause renewed fermentation, assuming it was done fermenting, with very little residual flavor left. Stevia is a non fermentable sugar there will be some sweetness. I am not sure how that is all going to taste in the end. I would stabilized the cider and added the Stevia and concentrate to taste at bottling.

I never thought of the flavoring re-activating the yeast. It makes perfect sense. I think I will let it ferment dry again, then add the flavor at bottling. I just need to watch my gravity, as I'm adding carbonation tablets. Has anyone tried the Cooper carbonation tablets? I'm going for a sweet, carbonated cider.

I never thought of the flavoring re-activating the yeast. It makes perfect sense. I think I will let it ferment dry again, then add the flavor at bottling. I just need to watch my gravity, as I'm adding carbonation tablets. Has anyone tried the Cooper carbonation tablets? I'm going for a sweet, carbonated cider.