Beer tasting at FG reading: hops or alcohol?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

temptnmonkey

Reaction score
So I'm a novice (this is my first brew) and I wanted to ask a question or two about diagnosing off-flavors.

I brewed an IPA and took a taste after measuring my FG (a bit lower than I expected but only by a little--expected 1.014-1015 ish and got 1.011 or 1.012 ish (used Safale US-05 and OG was 1.057-1.059ish--right where I estimated it). This FG reading is about a week and a half after boil. I will take another one in a couple days when I plan to move to secondary for dry hopping and clearing--I didn't do a good job straining out hops from the kettle.

My main question whether there an obvious difference between a heavy bitterness and fusel alcohol flavor? In other words, if there is a lot of fusel alcohol, it would be pretty obvious? I'm a little concerned my fermentation was a touch high (I was in the middle of the heatwave). I didn't really detect any esters (banana) or diacetyl (buttery). I know all of this will settle with time, but for learning's sake I am curious.

Overall, it tasted pretty good for an IPA at room temperature and no carbonation.

Have you ruled out Acetaldehyde? I just mention this because you don't include it in the OP and I think it is relevent, but I didn't want to step on your toes if you had ruled it out :)

How high was your fermentation temp? You'll likely be OK unless it was pretty high (above 80 or more or so). Its probably heavily bitter from the hops since you made an IPA. The raw wort is always a little bitter, the flavor will certainly mellow out with time.