Nut Brown Ale - Look Good?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Joeywhat

Reaction score
I'm just thinking about my next brew which will hopefully be next weekend...I LOVE nut brown ales...however I'm also a big IPA fan and hophead. I just downloaded Beer Smith and have been tooling around with it and came up with this:

6.67lb Amber LME
.5lb Dark DME
2lb Honey (not sure what kind yet)
1lb Crystal malt
.5lb Choc malt
.5lb Munich malt
2oz Northern brewer hops 60 min
.5oz Fuggle 15 min
.5oz Fuggle dry (secondary)
.5 tsp Irish Moss 15 min
White Labs British Ale yeast

60 minute boil, 1-2 weeks in the primary then another week in the secondary where I'll dry hop it. It'll be kegged after that.

So what's the consensus here? I'm a newb so a lot of this is still VERY new to me...I realize that this is probably not a true 'nut brown ale' by any means, however it looks good to me. I'm shooting for a darker ale that has a lot of toasted and sweet caramel-like flavors with enough bitterness to balance it out and then some, plus a very big hop aroma. I also wanted to get the ABV up there a bit which is why I added the honey. I played around with the quantities a bit so I hopefully don't have anything left over...I HATE having small quantities of ingredients left after a batch. I threw teh dark DME in there because it was left over from my previous batch :rolleyes:

Does this look OK or is it a case of 'go home and try again'?

what lovibond crystal? I've used 60 with good results.

Also, what IBU does 2 oz northern brewer at 60 give you? Might be a bit high for the style, but youre a hophead so you might not mind.

Also not sure about the honey...I've never seen it in a nut brown, but it will definitely boost the ABV if thats what you want.