Why not use a carboy for the primary fermenter?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Jesse17

Yep....I tell you what...
HBT Supporter
Reaction score
I'm new to brewing, and was wondering why does everyone use a plastic bucket for the primary fermenter, why not just use a carboy. Does it have something to do with the surface area exposed at the top?

Also, why do you need a primary and a secondary...why not just leave it in the primary, or start in the secondary? --Jesse

Jesse17 said:
I'm new to brewing, and was wondering why does everyone use a plastic bucket for the primary fermenter,

They don't. Go ahead and use the carboy. Whether or not to use a secondary is a matter of much debate. Some do and some don't.

alot of people use carboys for fermentation, for example, a 5 gallon batch should be in a 6+ gallon vessel to allow the kreusen some headspace otherwise you can end up with a sticky situation.

i am still using 6.5 gallon plastic fermenters ive been doing this less than a year, but i would like to switch to carboys so i can see the process through glass

Many people do use a 6.5 gallon carboy as a primary, it's extremely common. You can leave it in primary, a secondary isn't entirely necessary for most styles. You can't start a 5 gallon batch in a 5 gallon secondary because there is not enough head space.

Check this out if you haven't already http://www.howtobrew.com/

EDIT: man I type slow...

mr_stimey said:
....i would like to switch to carboys so i can see the process through glass

It is prety cool to be able to see your beer fermenting! Especially at first when it's really churning!:D