about the 1-2-3 rule

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Reaction score
I am a beginner and am using the 1-2-3 rule, after two weeks in the carboy I am ready to bottle. The issue I am concerned about is that the room the carboy was in may have been below 60 degrees... Should I just bottle it anyway or give it a few days in some warmer temp, but below 60?

It should be fine, after you bottle just be sure to keep the bottles around 70 for 2-3 weeks for proper carbonation.

As flyangler said, you should check the gravity first and make sure it finished, low temperature can slow down fermentation.

The 1-2-3 rule is not hard and fast.

It all depends on whether or not fermentation is complete. Usually it will be done after a week, however sometimes it is not. That is why we use hydrometers. If you bottle beer that is not fully fermented, you risk having exploding bottles and that is not good for anybody!

I have not taken a hygrometer reading...

Definitely take one. If you had the fermenter below the lower limit of the recommended range for your yeast strain, it may have pooped out and you won't know where it is for sure. If the fermentation just stalled because of those temps, and you bottle and it warms- you could be facing bottle bombs.

I am a beginner and am using the 1-2-3 rule, after two weeks in the carboy I am ready to bottle. The issue I am concerned about is that the room the carboy was in may have been below 60 degrees... Should I just bottle it anyway or give it a few days in some warmer temp, but below 60?

you shouldn't even move to secondary until you've used your hydrometer to determine if fermentation has completed.

I can't imagine it would still be fermenting much after 3 weeks even if the temp dipped below 60. Maybe I am wrong though.