Pineapple beer?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

noid

Reaction score
I have had a request to brew a pineapple beer and have not been able to find a recipe out there. I was wondering if anybody has one or is there a reason why there are not any? (Off flavor?)

TIA

you could run the risk of killing your yeast using fresh pineapple the acids might be to stong. as a cook i was taught to never use the fresh while marination because the acids will eat right though the meat (its kind of cool). i dont know about how strong yeast is. you best bet would be to use canned pineapple cause it is already cooked in the can.

I made a pineapple wit that works great! The pineapple comes out a bit later, interestingly. I think when I make this again, I'll secondary and put half the pineapple in the primary and half in the secondary to get more flavor up front. It's definitely very tasty!

0.5 lb carapils

6 lb wheat LME
3 lb amber LME

.5 oz. Hallertauer (60 min)
.25 oz. Cascade (20 min)
.25 oz. Hallertauer (20 min)

WLP400 Belgian Wit Ale Yeast

1/4 tsp crushed coriander (5 min)
2 cans crushed pineapple in juice, no sugar added

Steep grain 30 mins @ 150-160. At 200 degrees, add amber LME. Begin boil. Boil bittering hops for 60 mins. Add remaining LME with 15 mins remaining. Add coriander with 5 mins remaining. Add pineapple just prior to flame out.

Bottle immediately after fermentation is complete, 7-10 days. Use 5 oz dextrose to prime.