New Beer Kits

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

indian09

Reaction score
Hello,

Im new to this, and I have a few questions. I just bought a beer kit, it came with a large plastic tub, and a carboy among other things. My main question is the primary fermentation supposed to occur in the carboy or the plastic tub. The plastic tub has no air lock ( i'd have to make to hole in the lid to do so). So I mixed it in the plastic tub, and then transferred to the carboy and added the yeast, put the air lock on it and let bubble away. After 6 days (today) it stopped bubbling in the air lock. Now for the secondary, do I need another carboy or let it occur in the bottles (I still need to add dextrose) My final questions is plastic or glass bottles?

Appreciate any help or suggestions

First off, read this site: How-to-Brew.

To answer your question, the bucket was intended to be your primary, but since you've already got it in the carboy, I'd just leave it there for 2 - 3 weeks, than bottle it.

In reading your post I suppose you did not boil up the ingredients. Not terrible, but leaves lots of room for issues. Next batch I'd boil up 1.5 or 2G water with the kit for an hour and then dump in the remaining water to cool it and transfer to the carboy and pitch hydrated yeast (I pressume you used the pack and just sprinkled it in). To hydrate, sprinkle over 1 cup of warm (previously boiled) water and let it sit covered with foil until it looks like it is beginning to froth up a bit...then pitch. Let sit in an air lock carboy until fementation looks like its stopped. Transfer to a second for carboy for two weeks or so. Transfer to bottling bucket with corn sugar and bottle in GLASS. This, of course is my $0.02 opinion and you will likely get 1,000 differing from others.