Cascade vs Hallertau

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Lefty

Reaction score
This is my first year growing hops. I have these two varieties planted and growing happily in the back yard. The Cascade broke ground and shot up 2 feet in as many weeks. No big suprise there. It came up as one bine and started sprouting into multiple bines off the one that broke ground. No worries, they are all happy to climb the two twine runs I set up.

My Hallertau is a different story. It was much lazier in breaking through and lazy in growing. Took better part of two months to reach the twine about 10 inches off the ground. It has since broke ground in different spots. About 5 different places where it is coming through the ground. And none of them are much taller than 2 feet.

Is this a variety difference between the two hop rhizomes? I know I should prune back to 3 or so bines to allow them to grow, but in doing that I will be cutting a LOT of the Hallertau. Being this is the first year growth, should I no prune and let them be...see what happens with them?

I'm seeing the same thing with Cascade vs Fuggle. From what I can tell its tough to compare any other variety to the speed of Cascade. I planted mine the same day about 3 weeks ago and the Cascade is about 10" high and the Fuggle is maybe 2". I picked up a book, The homebrewers garden, and have a better idea of what varieties grow best at home. Speed, hardiness, yield, etc.

I don't prune first year hops, I let them grow as they like. I also found that sometimes if the hops don't get to a twine or something to climb they'll just stop growing. I had that happen on my nugget rhizome last year. Now on first year plants I'll sometimes put a small stick in the ground near them and help them climb to the twine using that.