Be gentle its my first time

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

pendries

Reaction score
I brewed my first AG this past weekend.SWMBO came home last week from the hairdresser with a 50 lb bag of barley "for chicken feed". It turned out to be Breiss 2 row brewers pre crushed. This spurred a trip to LHBS and frantic equipment manufacturing day Sat. I had only done extract/partial up to this point.This forum has been instrumental.I built Lauter/tun and wort chiller. Brew day was Sunday,all went well.I was relatively short on wort, Lots of suspended hops on bottom of brewpot, I did not add this to primary. I did top off with boiled water cold to 175degrees (Mistake?). I had purchased a Smack pack but had not made a starter,I had done enough new stuff for one day. I pitched a dry yeast right onto the wort. Monday morning the lid blew off Primary(Second time for me).Next step is blowoff tube!If this beer turns out I will be in Beer heaven. I have never been concerned with the particulars I hear of in this forum. I have refused to purchase a hydrometer so far. Im gonna drink it regardless of how it turns out. Any other hillbilly brewers out there?

Sounds like you made beer to me.

Keep your fingers crossed and your equipment sanitary and I forsee drinking in your future.

Cheers,

knewshound

Pendries,

Sounds like a great time! Be sure to let ueveryone know how it turns out.

I do sanitize thoroughly but I do brew in a barn! Lots of space, peace and quite.I,ve got 40 pounds of grain left with another 250 on order. I'm thinking a Wee heavy. Got any simple recipes?

pendries said: