keg priming question

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

sweetloaf

Reaction score
hello. i ordinarily force carbonate my kegs, but i'm preparing to age a dubbel for about 6 months and would like to prime this time. my question is this: why is less priming sugar required when kegging than when bottling? i've been brewing for about 10 years and have never seen an adequate explanation. i do not buy the explanation regarding headspace, since, while the headspace in a keg is large, it is roughly proportionate to the headspace in a bottle, given the greater total volume. it seems to me that for a given volume of beer with a given yeast count, a quantity of priming sugar should yield the same level of carbonation regardless of packaging. is there something in the cooperation of yeast when in a larger volume (like the keg) that i'm not considering? the last time i primed a keg using the prescribed 1/3 cup, the beer was undercarbonated. has anyone had this experience?

I suspect it is a compensation for the pour. I run most of my ales at 8-10 psi, which is less than two volumes and get a nice head & residual carbonation. One probably loses more CO2 pouring from a bottle. Just a guess, as I don't bottle or prime my kegs.

Sounds like it needs RESEARCH, the kind you get government grants for.

I share your curiosity. I also have never heard a good explanation.

I recently started kegging, and the last time I kegged a batch, I forgot to adjust the amount of priming sugar. Of course, after sealing the keg and realizing what I did, I panicked.

You know what, the beer was fine. Perfectly carbonated.