Anyone ever make Beer Bottle Shelves?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

celtic_dude

Reaction score
Since I started brewing my own beers I have aquired a new taste for beer. I no longer can sit and enjoy a Yuegling lager or a Miller light like I used to before. Now I find myself at the local bottle shop dropping $100 on like 10-12 12oz bottles of good beer. In doing so, I have kept every bottle of every new beer I try. I am now well over 400 bottles and I am looking for different ideas on how to store and show them. My first thought is to construct shelves around my basement bar to show them off. I am not sure if it would be best to start with a few shelves on one wall of to put shelves up around the bar. Has anyone else done anything like this? If so any pictures? Thanks :)

I did something in the basement - the CAT climbed up and knocked off 2 bombers...

I hate cats.

Recommend a cat-proof shelving system

I made some "floating" shelves out of an old door to help me display my bottles. Need to put up some more shelving, but this gives you an idea of what I'm talking about:

Bottles_003.jpg

Bottles_002.jpg

Bottles_006.jpg

I did this in college with my roommates... not what you are thinking. We were very into beer and it is about all we did apart from school. All told we had 2150 bottles when we moved out after 2 years. It was a good two years.

My bits of advice:

1. Nice shelves will make your beer collection look legit whereas cheap ones will make it look silly and non-serious. I made oak shelves, routed a nice edge on them and sized them according to bottle sizes (bombers, 12 oz., etc.). If you are building the shelves yourself, take the time to do it right, you will be glad you did.