Buying Bulk Honey

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

bubbachunk

Reaction score
Who has everyone dealt with?
I was looking to purchase from here as it was the best price I could find. Anyone with any experience with them?

My local guy only sells some sort of wildflower blend he wont specify and I can only buy 1 gallon at a time for 2.5$ a lb. He also said he wont be selling even in the gallon bulk til the spring when he has a new harvest so I will be s.o.l.

I have no experience with mead, or buying honey, but I have been watching prices. I am quite confident you'll be hard pressed to beat those prices. The best I have seen is like 35 bucks for 12 gallons.

Best of luck to you!

IIRC, Dutch Gold is processed clover honey, pretty much what's used in millions of commercial honey bear types. One LHBS here sells it.

Try to find an apiary using honeylocator, you might find one a little closer to you. Last I bought honey (summer time) it was about $2/lb when buying in 5g buckets. I'm sure based on the honey crop report that prices will go up until it's back in season again next year.

I have no experience with mead, or buying honey, but I have been watching prices. I am quite confident you'll be hard pressed to beat those prices. The best I have seen is like 35 bucks for 12 gallons.

Best of luck to you!

I think you mean $35 for 12 pounds...12 gallons would be something like 144 pounds, which for $35 would be a STEAL.

IIRC, Dutch Gold is processed clover honey, pretty much what's used in millions of commercial honey bear types. One LHBS here sells it.