Cider Sweetening?

Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum

Help Support Homebrew Talk - Beer, Wine, Mead, & Cider Brewing Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

cascadehollow

Reaction score
I am fairly new to brewing, and on my first batch of cider. I racked to secondary today after 4 weeks in primary. Gravity is at 1.000 down from a start of 1.070. How long should it stay in the secondary? I figured another month maybe. It tasted rather sour/bitter. I was told to add 2 tsp of citric acid to the recipe. I am worried that was too much. Is there any way to sweeten it without restarting the fermentation. I am not kegging yet so I can't use sorbate to halt fermentation. I do want it to carbonate in the bottle.
Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated

I am fairly new to brewing, and on my first batch of cider. I racked to secondary today after 4 weeks in primary. Gravity is at 1.000 down from a start of 1.070. How long should it stay in the secondary? I figured another month maybe. It tasted rather sour/bitter. I was told to add 2 tsp of citric acid to the recipe. I am worried that was too much. Is there any way to sweeten it without restarting the fermentation. I am not kegging yet so I can't use sorbate to halt fermentation. I do want it to carbonate in the bottle.
Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated

If you want to bottle carbonate, you have a couple of choices to sweeten. You could use non-fermentable sweeteners like splenda or lactose, or bottle pasteurize when the cider is carbed up enough after sweetening.

Sorbate inhibits yeast reproduction, so you could use it and then sweeten the cider and fermentation won't restart, but you can't bottle carbonate after sorbate as you need the yeast activity to carb up the cider.

Hi